Tales of the Jazz Age PDF Ù Tales of Epub / the Jazz

Tales of the Jazz Age A generation grown up to find all Gods dead all wars fought all faiths in man shaken was how F Scott Fitzgerald defined his age Perhaps nowhere in American fiction is this statement better exemplified than in Fitzgerald's first two volumes of short fiction Flappers and Philosophers and Tales of the Jazz Age Penguin's new Jazz Age Stories gathers all of these early pieces in one volume which together capture the shine and seductive sound of early American jazz the scandalous affronts to religious pieties the nights of drunken revelry and the impending doom of financial moral and intellectual dissolution Spanning the early twentieth century American landscape the Minnesota of his youth the Princeton college years the sualor and opulence of New York this collection contains unforgettable images of modern America and elouently expresses Fitzgerald's theme of the enchantment and disillusionment of materialism Jazz Age Stories includes The Ice Palace Bernice Bobs Her Hair and A Diamond as Big as The Ritz


10 thoughts on “Tales of the Jazz Age

  1. Duane Duane says:

    Tales of the Jazz Age is a collection of 11 short stories published in 1922 although most had been published earlier in national magazines Fitzgerald published 4 novels that was his preferred way of writing But he wrote short stories to make money and being in constant financial trouble it was the fastest way for him to make cash This collection was good it contains probably his most famous short story The Curious Case of Benjamin Button as well as a few other very good ones A couple I thought were nonsensical and not up to Fitzgerald's best It's certainly worth the time and it is aptly named because if you ask almost anyone to name one writer associated with the Jazz Age or the Roaring 20's 9 out of 10 will say F Scott Fitzgerald He defined that generation for writers or accurately it defined him


  2. Erin Erin says:

    Despite reading so much about him and his wife Zelda I cannot help but reveal my mad crush on Fitzgerald This short story collection of 15 different stories offered a little bit of everything that I adore about the author Men who crave women they can't have WWI veterans readjusting to life after the battlefield rich versus poor big city thrills rural intrigue and a little bit of comedy and mystery to boot Some of my fave sentences All life was weather a waiting through the hot where events had no significance for the cool that was soft and caressing like a woman's hand on a tired forehead It's an air of worry and poverty and sleepless nights Love is fragile she was thinking but perhaps the pieces are saved the things that hovered on lips that might have been said The new love the new tenderness learned are treasured up for the next lover Everybody's youth is a dream a form of chemical madness Goodreads review published 030819


  3. Sue Sue says:

    I've been intending to read Fitzgerald for some time and I'm very glad to have begun with this collection of stories There is such a show of versatility and skill here Not all stories are eually successful but all are interesting and some are truly wonderful Among those I particularly enjoyed were The Camel's Back May Day O Russett Witch and The Lees of Happiness Themes central to Fitzgerald's life and other works are scattered through these tales the disparity of wealth and poverty good and evil bad things happening to good people zany characters and activities true love and love gone very badI highly recommend this story collection and am sure I will read these againThank you Tajma for leading me here


  4. Cara Cara says:

    Considering I didn't like The Great Gatsby I'm amazed at how I'm loving the other works of F Scott Fitzgerald so far I read This Side Of Paradise and was enthralled and this book of short stories was eual parts enchanting and intelligent I read it on my Kindle and I ended up highlighting a lot of sentences and passages because they were so beautifully written The book includes The Curious Case of Benjamin Button which is nowhere near as complex a story as the movie version I did enjoy it a lot but had to separate it from the movie as the two are so different My favorite story was The Diamond As Big As The Ritz I was captivated from the very beginning At first it's like a fairy tale I kept thinking Where's the catch? Is this all a dream? Then when the catch happened it was like an adventure movie PLEASE at least read this storyThe only story I didn't enjoy was Taruin of Cheapside I just plain didn't get it It was a little bizarre Maybe I'll go back and read it again but that was the only story that I didn't enjoy at allI definitely recommend this one If you're tired of reading long novels and want a wonderful collection of short stories go for this book


  5. DJ DJ says:

    My favourite short story collection of Fitzgerald’s so far I feel this is where he was really starting to experimentbranch out and come into his own Contains 11 short stories grouped into three parts The stories were as follows My Last FlappersThe Jelly Bean 4 Stars ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️The Camel’s Back 4 Stars ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️May Day 4 Stars ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️Porcelain and Pink 3 Stars ⭐️⭐️⭐️ Fantasies The Diamond as Big as the Ritz 5 Stars ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️The Curious Case of Benjamin Button 5 Stars ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️Taruin of Cheapside 4 Stars ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️O Russet Witch 4 Stars ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ Unclassified Masterpieces The Lees of Happiness 5 Stars ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️Mr Icky 3 Stars ⭐️⭐️⭐️Jemima the Mountain Girl 4 Stars ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️


  6. Faye Faye says:

    The Jelly Bean 25 starsThe Camel's Back 25 starsMay Day 45 starsPorcelain and Pink 25 starsThe Diamond as Big as the Ritz 45 starsThe Curious Case of Benjamin Button 55 stars FAVOURITETaruin of Cheapside 35 starsO Russet Witch 55 stars FAVOURITEThe Lees of Happiness 45 starsMr Icky 25 starsJemina the Mountain Girl 35 stars


  7. Jonny Parshall Jonny Parshall says:

    This collection of short stories short plays and novelettes is so varied in style and execution forming an opinion of the whole is damn near impossible So I shall break it down tale by tale The Jelly Bean ☆☆I felt this story caricatured American Southerners rather disgracefullyThe Camel's Back ☆☆☆☆Wild clever humor from a talented humoristMay Day ☆☆☆☆I love the characters featured in this story's vignettes Their interactions truly captured the age from a broad spectrum of classes and backgrounds It was funny at times and rather depressing at other momentsPorcelain and Pink ☆☆☆Very humorous but nothing truly amazing about this one act playThe Diamond as Big as the Ritz ☆☆☆☆☆This is a brilliant act of terrestrial fantasy set in Montana While adapted to several radio and teleplays during the 1940s and 1950s it has yet to adapt to the silver screen Instead of constant Gatsby remakes perhaps Hollywood should give this gem another look ExcitingThe Curious Case of Benjamin Button ☆☆☆☆☆☆For fans of the movie it might seem fairly foreign Though names and several plot points remain this story is by far a humorous version of the tale of the man who is born elderly and ages in reverse inspired by and in the vein of Mark Twain It was sacrilege the film removed these elements and approached the story dramatically Taruin of Cheapside ☆I have no idea what was happening in this short cryptic passage Had LSD been in existence in the 1920s???Oh Russet Witch ☆☆☆Another example of a Fitzgerald staple the regrets of youth realized in old agemiddle age It could be uite evident the character CarolineAlicia Dare was based on Fitzgerald's wife Zelda I haven't read into the subject but many of his young female characters seem to adapt this young and carefree flapperdancersocialite archetype who often spoil the dreams of ambitious young menThe Lees of Happiness ☆☆☆Don't let the title fool you this too is a bit of a downer filled with regret and remorseMr Icky ☆☆Another strange one act play combining the folly of old age and Fitzgerald's bizarre sense of humorJemina the Mountain Girl ☆Strange absurd in the vein of Taruin of Cheapside and Mr IckyOverall ☆☆☆☆While most of the stories were either too strange so so or downright depressing the few truly great stories and majority of the volume's volume made this book a worthwhile read Fitzgerald could be hilarious whimsical and captivating when he wasn't trying to be too weird It was a different era altogether and a strange one to boot I guess you should've simply been thereAs a side note Fitzgerald makes so many references to women's feet one can't but wonder if he harbored an infatuation Again something I haven't read into but of which am suspicious


  8. leynes leynes says:

    This edition of Tales of the Jazz Age features only four short stories from the original volume the other four short stories are taken from Flappers and Philosophers thus dating the publication from 1920 to 1922 Originally I wanted to unhaul this book because A I am not the biggest fan of short stories and B uite frankly I am not the biggest fan of Fitzgerald himself There I said it It's not just the fact that I have massive problems with his casual racism and sexism whatever casual is supposed to mean in this context ugh no after reading two of his novels it felt like Scottie was focusing so much on first world problems and characters whining about being rich that I simply couldn't take it any I was pleasantly surprised to discover that these short stories were all uite nuanced historically insightful and brilliantly written There are many allusions to Oscar Wilde my bae in Scottie's work but never have I felt the connection stronger than in this collection These short stories could've have been written by Oscar himself – the l'art pour l'art vibe was strong in every single one of them and we even saw some imitations of the dandy Overall I have to admit that I am very impressed with this collection and its exploration of gender roles and unhappy marriages I didn't agree with a lot of what Scottie was trying to sell me especially in regards to female beauty and how it wanes with age but I appreciated the insight nonetheless I think that Tales of the Jazz Age is a fantastic collection to get familiar with Scottie and the common themes in his later worksMy absolute favorite story in this collection is May Day btw you should totally read it That ending still has me shook


  9. Claire Claire says:

    I can conclude having finished this collection of short stories that with the exception of The Great Gatsby F Scott Fitzgerald is just not really for me This collection was saved in my opinion by The Diamond as Big as the Ritz Porcelain and Pink and Jemina the Mountain Girl Barring some moments of subtle but shocking endings I found the rest of the stories dull and the characters empty and the prose ineffective


  10. Nicole Beaudry Nicole Beaudry says:

    This collection has eight stories The Curious Case of Benjamin Button Head and Shoulders The Four Fists The Cut Glass Bowl May Day O Russet Witch Bernice Bobs Her Hair and The Lees of Happiness A handful are incredible Head and Shoulders Bernice Bobs Her Hair and The Lees of Happiness were far and away my favourites Benjamin Button was great The Four Fists was fun but forgettable and The Cut Glass Bowl was just alright But May Day and O Russet Witch while being not only the longest were also not terribly enjoyable reads They were lyrical and well written with engaging prose but some stories were significantly poignant than others while Bernice Bobs Her Hair was mostly hysterical


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *