Mad Blood Stirring PDF Ó Mad Blood Kindle -


Mad Blood Stirring With a rare clarity and fearless honesty journalist Daemon Fairless tackles the horrors and compulsions of male violence from the perspective of someone who struggles with violent impulses himself creating a non fiction masterpiece with the narrative power of novels such as Fight Club and A History of ViolenceA man no matter how civilized is still an animal and sometimes a dangerous one Men are responsible for the lion's share of assault rape murder and warfare Conventional wisdom chalks this up to socialization that men are taught to be violent And they are But there's to it Violence is a dangerous desire a set of powerful and inherent emotions we are loath to own up to And so there remains a hidden geography to male violence an inner ecosystem of rage dominance blood lust insecurity and bravado yet to be mapped Mad Blood Stirring is journalist Daemon Fairless's riveting first person travelogue through this territory as he seeks to understand the inner lives of violent men and ultimately himself A nice mix of personal memoir first person journalism and a kind of self help anger management It goes to heavy places rapists psychopaths pedophiles and fans of soccer A bit saccharin in places but never dull Extremely readable Many of the ideas prompted me to talk about the book with friends a sure sign of a good bookIf you're trying to understand male aggression this book will give you some insights for sure Enjoyable if like me you enjoy reading about the dark Thanks to GoodReads’ giveaways and the publisher for this book I got in exchange for an honest reviewThis is an amazing and very convincing book written by Mr Fairless He did a thorough scientific research on his subject that's obvious And he also provided concrete evidence of what he was saying by describing events in his own life but also by interviewing other violent people Moreover if some may find this book difficult to read because it alternates between sciences and life stories that made it digestible to me who is a neophyte in the different biological psychological historical and social aspects of violence in all its forms shapes and anglesMr Fairless is far from deserving his last name ; He is a man who knows how to balance things between nature and nurture and objectively recognize his own wrongsI could have uoted dozens of dead on statements from this book let me uote just this oneMy point is that BDSM is a culture that has been invented to negotiate a common and potentially dangerous desire BDSM is not the desire; it is a set of controls we have invented to mitigate the danger imposed by the desireAnyway violence is something we must not sweep under the rug And I'm sure that any of you will learn something valuable about it from this book I recommend « Mad Blood Stirring » to everyone who seeks to understand human condition and nature and especially to those who live with sometimes violent people regardless of their genders Benvolio I pray thee good Mercutio let's retireThe day is hot the Capulets abroadAnd if we meet we shall not 'scape a brawl;For now these hot days is the mad blood stirring Romeo and Juliet Mad Blood Stirring didn't turn out to be the book I was expecting – in a surprisingly satisfying way Subtitled “The Inner Lives of Violent Men” and written by a journalist with a Master's Degree in neuroscience I thought this would be a mix of hard science and philosophy in the vein of Steven Pinker or James Gleick But right from the book's Introduction author Daemon Fairless proves himself a captivating storyteller and by focussing on the stories of real people – those he interviews and himself – he is able to illustrate male violence without getting bogged down in studies and stats although plenty of science is cited here as well Fairless may have gone looking for explanations for his own violent impulses and he may have written a memoir here than anything else but I found it all fascinating and relatable and a worthwhile read Yes I have White Hat Syndrome Yes I want to make the world a better place by confronting – no let's be honest – by vanuishing the people I find threatening domineering manipulative and sadistic But that white hat sits atop an angry head And beneath that anger is a twitchy and hyper vigilant person who is overattuned to threatening sounds in the underbrush Right from the Introduction Fairless explains that he's the kind of man who is always spoiling for a fight – intervening with belligerent customers in stores chasing down purse snatchers responding to cries in the night He's a big man and over the years he has trained with weights and martial arts – when Fairless walks into a room sizing up the other men imagining who he could take down in a fight this seems to go beyond the average fantasy; he's hoping someone gets in his face Fairless also explains that his parents were hippies – he was raised with limited television and no toy guns; he was awash in feminist and pacifist theory; he marched and rallied and considers himself a “post patriarchal man” And yet the fighting; the genuine bloodlust In seeking explanations for his own darkest urges Fairless shares stories that illustrate the whole range of violent behaviour People who live in violent places particularly kids raised in violent subcultures have higher levels of chronic anger They tend to view relationships in a hostile mistrustful way They perceive the world and the people in it as dangerous and threatening And if they also happen to be carrying one of the environmentally sensitive genes fear and anger are amplified – all the so if they're carrying than one of these alleles In each section in Mad Blood Stirring Fairless tells a big story about a sanctioned form of male violence and contrasts it with both the criminal extremes and his own personal urges In the first Fairless tells the story of a MMA fighter – his training his history his experiences – and adds smaller stories here and there from the male culture of honour – from schoolyard bullies to frontier justice – and begins to share his own history; from his childhood as both the bullied and the bully to his own fight training As the book progresses the sections deal with increasingly violent activities contrasting an inner city high school football team with the kind of petty criminal their coach hopes to prevent his players from becoming; a willing participant in BDSM activity is contrasted against a serial rapist; the story of a cruelly manipulative parent is set off against a psychopathic serial killer; the tribalism of sports fans is compared to warmongers and the higher purpose of a professional soldier Throughout Fairless adds stories from his own life and cites fascinating stats 75% of men have had specific homicidal fantasies? Up to 50% of men would commit rape if they knew they'd get away with it? Chimps routinely organise war raids against neighbouring troops? and it all works together to shine a light on what seems natural and ubiuitous; the constant suppression of male violence that allows for human civilisationNow having said that I have no idea if most men actually walk around with Fairless' constant fantasies of violence and sex – the women he sees are all evaluated for their own uses – but his openness and relatable voice made this a fascinating examination of his own experience More a memoir than I had been expecting it was the personal focus of Mad Blood Stirring that I most engaged with I had a hard time deciding on 4 or 3 stars for this book but I feel ultimately that while there is much said that is worth reading and talking about some issues of style and focus hold it back This is not a light book and rightly so it's pretty heavy subject matter Trying to get at the root causes and motivations behind male violence was never going to be easy going Mr Fairless does an excellent job of presenting his own anecdotal experiences of the urge of violence alongside the science of violence and aggression Rather than some hand waving and moralizing this is a frank stare into why men fight rape kill and scrap and it rings true at least to me and I wager most men about the pleasure and anticipation we may be hard wired to feel at the prospect of fighting for what we see as just or fair Biology isn't the whipping boy in this story however nature and nurture both are called to account and their interactions considered Where this book lost me however is the level of personal detail It is at its best and most interesting when considering the subjects of his interviews and forays into succinct descriptions of the academic analyses But these are chopped up throughout the book by what feel like digressions into the writer's motivations for writing and experiences with violence in his own life I feel this is not a direct analytical essay on the topic but strays into memoir There is also much jumping around between interviewees within chapters that I think could have been better streamlined Ultimately there is a line I keep coming back to where Fairless says I didn't even set out to write much about myself I envisioned a dispassionate research heavy book about the objective realities of male violencepg 259 60 I can't help but feeling like that's the book I want to readStill I would recommend a read of all but the last chapter perhaps These are issues we shouldn't shy away from and Mr Fairless explores them thoroughly

  • Paperback
  • 400 pages
  • Mad Blood Stirring
  • Daemon Fairless
  • 19 August 2016
  • 9780345812926

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *